Four Ditmar Award nominations!

Aug 21, 2023

The preliminary ballot for the 2023 Ditmar Awards has just been released and I’m blown away to be on it four times. Four! What the actual hell?

I’ve been nominated for Sallow Bend in Best Novel; “Gulpepper Curios” from The Fall in Best Novella or Novelette, The Fall itself in Best Collected Work AND Damnation Games (which I edited and have a story in) also in Best Collected Work.

I mean, holy shit! Holy. Shit. Huge congrats to all the nominees! The full ballot is here:

Best Novel
36 Streets, T.R. Napper, Titan Books.
Sallow Bend, Alan Baxter, Cemetery Dance Publications.
Scavengers, Robert Hood, Clan Destine Press.
The Stone Road, Trent Jamieson, Erewhon Books.
X-Dimensional Assassin Zai Through the Unfolded Earth, Jason Franks, IFWG Publishing.
Best Novella or Novelette
“Bluebells”, Leanbh Pearson, in Bluebells, Black Hare Press.
“The Dark Matter of Natasha”, Matthew R. Davis, in The Dark Matter of Natasha, Grey Matter Press.
“Gulpepper Curios”, Alan Baxter, in The Fall, 13th Dragon Books.
“Remnants and Bad Water”, Kaaron Warren, in Damnation Games, Clan Destine Press.
“The Smell of Waiting”, Kaaron Warren, in Screams from the Dark, Tom Doherty Associates.
Best Short Story
“Everything so slow and quiet”, Kaaron Warren, in The Art of Being Human, FableCroft Publishing.
“Greatheart”, Juliet Marillier, in The Art of Being Human, FableCroft Publishing.
“The Quick Study”, C.H. Pearce, in Etherea Magazine 10.
“Songs We Sing at Sea are the Lies We Tell Ourselves”, Kaaron Warren, in Looming Low 2, Dim Shores.
Best Collected Work
The Art of Being Human, Tehani Croft and Stephanie Lai, FableCroft Publishing.
Cut to Care: A collection of little hurts, Aaron Dries, IFWG Publishing International.
Damnation Games, Alan Baxter, Clan Destine Press.
The Fall, Alan Baxter, 13th Dragon Books.
Midnight Echo 17, Greg Chapman, Australasian Horror Writers Association.
Phase Change, Matthew Chrulew, Twelfth Planet Press.
Best Fan Publication in Any Medium
Ethel the Aardvark, LynC, Melbourne Science Fiction Club.
Pratchat Podcast, Ben McKenzie, Elizabeth Flux.
Best Fan Writer
Bruce Gillespie
David Grigg
Kat Clay
Perry Middlemiss
Best Fan Artist
C.H. Pearce
David L Russell
Erin-Claire Barrow
Best Artwork
Best New Talent
Aaron Dries
Leanbh Pearson
C.H. Pearce
C.Z. Tacks
Matt Tighe
Zachary Ashford
William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review
Angharad Lodwick, Tinted Edges (book review blog)
Eugen Bacon, for An Earnest Blackness, Anti-Oedipus Press.
Gillian Polack, for Story Matrices: Cultural Encoding and Cultural Baggage in Science Fiction and Fantasy, Luna (UK).
Ian Mond, for reviews, in Locus.

Thanks for reading! Click here to subscribe to my newsletter or find me on socials here.